List of US states by statehood

The possible “independence” dates of the United States:

  • April 19, 1775-First battle of the Revolutionary War
  • July 2, 1776-Continental Congress votes to declare independence from Great Britain
  • July 4, 1776-Declaration of Independence is Ratified
  • October 19, 1781-General Cornwallis officially surrenders at Yorktown
  • September 3, 1783-Treaty of Paris is signed
  • September 17, 1787-Constitution is created
  • June 21, 1788-Constitution is ratified

An animation of the 50 states’ statehood:
US states by date of statehood animation

The thirteen colonies became the first thirteen states to ratify the constitution and achieve statehood.

Source: U.S. Mint

OrderStateDate of StatehoodPredecessor
1DelawareDecember 07, 1787Delaware Colony
2PennsylvaniaDecember 12, 1787Province of Pennsylvania
3New JerseyDecember 18, 1787Province of New Jersey
4GeorgiaJanuary 02, 1788Province of Georgia
5ConnecticutJanuary 09, 1788Connecticut Colony
6MassachusettsFebruary 06, 1788Province of Massachusetts Bay
7MarylandApril 28, 1788Province of Maryland
8South CarolinaMay 23, 1788Province of South Carolina
9New HampshireJune 21, 1788Province of New Hampshire
10VirginiaJune 25, 1788Virginia Colony
11New YorkJuly 26, 1788Province of New York
12North CarolinaNovember 21, 1789Province of North Carolina
13Rhode IslandMay 29, 1790Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
14VermontMarch 04, 1791Vermont Republic (land disputed between New Hampshire and New York)
15KentuckyJune 01, 1792Fayette, Jefferson, and Lincoln Counties, Virginia
16TennesseeJune 01, 1796Southwest Territory
17OhioMarch 01, 1803Northwest Territory
18LouisianaApril 30, 1812Territory of Orleans
19IndianaDecember 11, 1816Indiana Territory
20MississippiDecember 10, 1817Mississippi Territory (land ceded by Georgia)
21IllinoisDecember 03, 1818Illinois Territory
22AlabamaDecember 14, 1819Alabama Territory (land ceded by Georgia)
23MaineMarch 15, 1820District of Maine (part of Massachusetts)
24MissouriAugust 10, 1821Missouri Territory
25ArkansasJune 15, 1836Arkansas Territory
26MichiganJanuary 26, 1837Michigan Territory
27FloridaMarch 03, 1845Florida Territory (purchased from Spain)
28TexasDecember 29, 1845Republic of Texas
29IowaDecember 28, 1846Iowa Territory
30WisconsinMay 29, 1848Wisconsin Territory
31CaliforniaSeptember 09, 1850directly admitted from ceded Mexican Territory
32MinnesotaMay 11, 1858Minnesota Territory
33OregonFebruary 14, 1859Oregon Territory
34KansasJanuary 29, 1861Kansas Territory
35West VirginiaJune 20, 1863part of Virginia
36NevadaOctober 31, 1864Nevada Territory
37NebraskaMarch 01, 1867Nebraska Territory
38ColoradoAugust 01, 1876Colorado Territory
39North DakotaNovember 02, 1889Dakota Territory
40South DakotaNovember 02, 1889Dakota Territory
41MontanaNovember 08, 1889Montana Territory
42WashingtonNovember 11, 1889Washington Territory
43IdahoJuly 03, 1890Idaho Territory
44WyomingJuly 10, 1890Wyoming Territory
45UtahJanuary 04, 1896Utah Territory
46OklahomaNovember 16, 1907Oklahoma and Indian Territory
47New MexicoJanuary 6, 1912New Mexico Territory
48ArizonaFebruary 14, 1912Territory of New Mexico
49AlaskaJanuary 3, 1959Territory of Alaska (purchased from Russia)
50HawaiiAugust 21, 1959Territory of Hawaii


website security


 Geography Almanac logo


©2011-2016, by Geography Almanac. Questions? Contact us at: support [at symbol]


NOTE: All pictures and images on this site are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 1.0, 2.0, or 3.0 unported license, are under public domain, or are published by Geography Almanac.